VCCS Colleges
Text Only student_banner_photo
VCCS_Logo colleges_button
Education for a better job, a better life, a better future.


Peer Groups

Important New Resources for Peer Groups


Approved Peer Groups 

* Fall 2013 Peer Group Meetings (with link to more information) are noted in blue.

Peer Group

Leader Email
Accounting Bobbie Gershman bgershman@nvcc.edu
Administration of Justice John Wilt jwilt@dcc.vccs.edu 
Irv Comer icomer@germanna.edu
ASL & Interpreter Education Paula Debes pdebes@nvcc.edu
Business Toby Deal tdeal@ph.vccs.edu
Loretta Beavers loretta.beavers@sw.edu
Audrey Perselay perselaya@brcc.edu
Communications Studies & Theatre Kerrigan Sullivan ksullivan@jtcc.edu
Tracy McAfee wcmcaft@wcc.vccs.edu
Developmental Education Rick Dollieslager dollier@tncc.edu
Dawn Hayden haydend@tncc.edu
Distance Education Donna Levy dlevy@reynolds.edu
Early Childhood Development Kim Gregory kgregory@virgninawestern.edu
Christine Schull cschull@nvcc.edu 
Economics Ralph Sass rsass@dslcc.edu
Emergency Medical Services Programs Bill Akers bill.akers@sw.edu
Engineering & Applied Technology  Yiheng Wang ywang@dcc.vccs.edu
English & English as a Second Language Art Schuhart aschuhart@nvcc.edu
Abby Montgomery montgomerya@brcc.edu
Global Studies Sharon Burnham Sburnham@jtcc.edu 
Information Systems Technology Joan Tuck joan.tuck@southside.edu
Learning Assistance Professionals Jenny Koster jkoster@pvcc.edu
Learning Resources Cherie Carl ccarl@rappahannock.edu 
Gene Damon gdamon@vccs.edu
Mathematics & Computer Science / VMATYC.org Michael Kirby

mkirby@tcc.edu

Music Michael Sundblad sundbladm@tncc.edu
Nursing & Allied Health Susan Hunter shunter@reynolds.edu
Elaine Beaupre ebeaupre@reynolds.edu
Physical Education Brian Clark
Psychology Lora Vasiliauskas lvasiliauskas@virginiawestern.edu
Science Melissa Back melissa.back@southside.edu
Sociology Heidi Morehead hmorehead@nr.edu
Michael Rutz mrutz@jtcc.edu
Student Development Services Harriette Arrington harrington@pdc.edu
Hyler Scott hscott@pdc.edu
Teacher Education Lakeesha Easterling

leasterling@nvcc.edu

Teresa Hudson teresa.hudson@southside.edu
Lori Killough lkillough@lfcc.edu
World Languages (formerly Foreign Language) Martha Davis mdavis@nvcc.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Connect with a Peer Group

Faculty can connect with a peer group in one of two ways: 1) get enrolled in the peer group’s Blackboard site by the leaders – see names and emails above, or 2) have leaders request the OPD to enroll faculty who teach certain courses. It’s important for faculty to be enrolled in the Blackboard site to learn about peer group events and participate in the planning and life of the group.


Other Peer Group Applicants

What about the groups not approved? Several were encouraged to revise and resubmit at the next application date, February 1, 2012. Some fell outside of the teaching/learning/student success mission of the peer group program. And one group was encouraged to partner with a larger group.

All authors of the applications have received a personalized letter to share with their colleagues. All Blackboard sites will remain up and running for collaborative work among group members, regardless of the decision rendered. Peer group planners will be encouraged to include sessions targeted for specific populations (such as adjunct faculty).


Apply to Become a Peer Group

Review the information on the Professional Development Peer Group Information and Application page. Additional important information can be found the Peer Group Manual 1.0 and Tips for a Successful Peer Group Application. It’s important to understand the more targeted teaching and learning focus of the new peer group program.

Need assistance? Feel free to contact your college’s Professional Development Committee member or contact Michael Weisbrod, Coordinator of Professional Development, at mweisbrod@vccs.edu

 

 




Peer Group Meeting Standard Format

First Day

11:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon
Conference Registration

12:00 noon – 1:30 p.m.
Opening Buffet Luncheon with Keynote Speaker

1:45 p.m. – 2:45 p.m.
Concurrent Session No. 1

2:45 p.m. – 3:15 p.m.
Afternoon Refreshment Break & Hotel Check-In

3:15 p.m. – 4:15 p.m.
Concurrent Session No. 2

4:30 p.m. – 5:30 p.m.
Concurrent Session No. 3

***Dinner on Own***

Second Day

7:30 a.m. – 8:45 a.m.
Buffet Breakfast with Keynote Speaker (if applicable)

8:45 a.m. – 9:15 a.m.
Wrap-up and Planning Meeting

9:30 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.
Concurrent Session No. 4

10:30 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.
Morning Refreshment Break & Hotel Check-Out

11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Concurrent Session No. 5

12:00 p.m.
Conference Adjourns

 

Contact Us | Sitemap | Privacy/FOIA | Acceptable Use Agreement | Staff Directory | Friday, April 18, 2014
Virginia's Community Colleges  bullet-footer   101 N. 14th Street, 15th Floor  bullet-footer  Richmond, VA 23219