VCCS Colleges
Text Only student_banner_photo
VCCS_Logo colleges_button
Education for a better job, a better life, a better future.
spacing


2012 Professional Development Grants and
Workshop Mini-Grants Final Reports

If any title interests you, click on the link in the final report column to read the final report.
Want to learn more? Email the author by clicking on the email link. Enjoy!
 

Fall 2012

 
College Title Name Email Final Report
CVCC "Staff Rides"—A Tool for Engaging Community College Students in History David McGee

mcgeed@cvcc.vccs.edu

F2012-517P-FF
CVCC Analysis of Student Success and Persistence in Traditional, Service, Dual Enrollment, and Early College Mathematics Courses Michelle Penner pennerm@cvcc.vccs.edu F2012-521P-FF
GCC Fall 2012 Instructional Technology Summit—Innovations in Teaching and Learning Julietter Mersiowsky JMersiowsky@germanna.edu F2012-87W-FF
JSRCC The Art and Science of Online Education: A Conference for Educators, Advisors, and Administrators Ghazala Hashmi ghashmi@reynolds.edu F2012-83W-FF
JSRCC

Transition to University Mathematics Courses for STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) Students

Samuel Horelick shorelick@reynolds.edu F2012-543P-FF
LFCC Symposium: Thinking, Reading, and Writing at the College Level Miriam Moore mmoore2@lfcc.edu F2012-85W-FF
NVCC

Increase Effectiveness of Communication between Accounting Teachers and Students

Agatha Engel lengel@nvcc.edu F2012-519P-PF
NVCC

Comparing World War II Experiences: African-American Soldiers in the U.S. Army and the Tirailleurs Sénégalais in the French Army

Charles Evans

cevans@nvcc.edu

F2012-513P-PF.CF
NVCC

Integrating Team-based Learning into the Classroom

Amy Harding alharding@nvcc.edu F2012-527P-FF
NVCC

Innovative Teaching Methodologies to Enhance STEM Education and Outcomes

Rebecca Kamen

rkamen@nvcc.edu

F2012-541P-FF
NVCC

Transforming STEM Education through Creativity and Cross-disciplinary Visualization

Rebecca Kamen

rkamen@nvcc.edu

F2012-84W-FF
NVCC

Immigrant Stories through Music: An Artistic and Pedagogical Collaboration to Explore American Dreams

Jonathon Kolm jkolm@nvcc.edu F2012-515P-FF
NVCC Undergraduate Research Projects in Physics Walerian Majewski wmajewski@nvcc.edu F2012-532P-FF
NVCC

From Student to Professional: Facilitating the LEAP

Jeremy Ruane jruane@nvcc.edu F2012-530P-FF
PHCC

Diversity Across the Curriculum and Social Problems Related to Academic Achievement

Roderick Neal rneal@ph.vccs.edu F2012-522P-PF.CF
PVCC

Effective Tutor Training: A Workshop for Learning Assistance Professionals

Laura Symons   F2012-88W-CF
TNCC

Developing a Science of Food Course

Riham Mahfouz mahfouzr@tncc.edu F2012-542P-PF
 

Summer 2012

 
College Title Name Email Final Report
BRCC

Creating an Educator’s Guide to Service Learning: A Manual for Successful Integration of Service Learning into the Classroom

Rebecca Evans evansr@brcc.edu SU2012-481P-PF
BRCC

Canine Physical Rehabilitation Externship

Janice Larsen

larsenj@brcc.edu

SU2012-475P-PF
BRCC

The History and Traditions of Appalachian Pottery

Jessica Martinkosky martinkoskyj@brcc.edu SU2012-490P-FF
CVCC

Undergraduate Research Experience in the Community College STEM Curriculum

Juville Dario-Becker dario-beckerj@cvcc.vccs.edu SU2012-506P-FF
DCC

Curriculum Development for Transferable Scottish History Courses

Mark Wallace mwallace@dcc.vccs.edu SU2012-471P-FF
JTCC

Archival Research in England: The Land and Wealth of the Third Duke of Norfolk (1473-1554)

David Head dhead@jtcc.edu SU2012-469P-FF
JTCC

New Course Development: The Literature of Death and Dying.

Judith Johnson jjohnson@jtcc.edu SU2012-472P-FF
NVCC

Comparison of Instructor Feedback Methods in ESL Student Writing

Breana Bayraktar bbayraktar@nvcc.edu SU2012-495P-PF
NVCC

Taking Field Geology to the Next Level: Canada!

Callan Bentley cbentley@nvcc.edu SU2012-470P-FF
NVCC

The Worst That Could Happen: Preparing Our Fieldtrip Leaders for Emergencies

Callan Bentley cbentley@nvcc.edu SU2012-81W-FF
NVCC

Gabriel’s Rebellion (Working title)

Lucy Gebre-Egziabher lgebre@nvcc.edu SU2012-485P-PF
NVCC

Understanding Factionalism in Restoration Anglo-Irish Politics – An In-depth Look at Changing Political Movements at the Court of Charles II

Rebecca Hayes rhayes@nvcc.edu SU2012-484P-PF
NVCC

Formation of a Small Business Legal Internship

Kelly Hebron khebron@nvcc.edu  SU2012-500P-FF
NVCC

Phase II of the Science, Art, and Music of Water: An Instructional Collaboration: Recording, Promoting and Disseminating

Jonathan Kolm jkolm@nvcc.edu SU2012-491P-FF
NVCC

Community College of Virginia at CERN: Introducing Post-Modern Physics to C.C.

Walerian Majewski

wmajewski@nvcc.edu

SU2012-468P-FF
PHCC

Design of Virtual Field Trips for Historical Geology

Brett Dooley bdooley@ph.vccs.edu SU2012-486P-PF
PDCCC

The Introduction to Computer Science Reengineering Project

Robert Tureman rtureman@pdc.edu SU2012-497P-FF
SSVCC

ART 195: Topics In Art: Welded Art and Crafts Course Development

David Braun david.braun@southside.edu SU2012-476P-PF
SWCC

Instructional Development through Lessons and Interviews with a Master Organist: A Self-directed Project of Professional Growth

Joseph Trivette

joseph.trivette@sw.edu

SU2012-494P-FF
TCC

Interactivity + Interaction: Activity-based Assignments and Learning Tools for History of Design

Rosemary Hill rohill@tcc.edu SU2012-493P-FF
VHCC

Temporal and Spatial Changes of Mercury Contamination of Black-bellied Salamanders (Desmognathus Quadramaculatus)

Kevin Hamed khamed@vhcc.edu SU2012-509P-PF
VWCC

The Developmental Student Advisory Panel (DSAP): A Pilot Project

Brenda Ashcraft bashcraft@virginiawestern.edu SU2012-482P-CF.FF
VWCC

Course Redesign for Developmental Psychology (Psy 230)

Bonnie Dennis

bdennis@virginiawestern.edu

SU2012-480P-FF
WCC

Going Green in Organic Chemistry

Stanley Jones

sdjones@wcc.vccs.edu

SU2012-488P-FF
 

Spring 2012

 
College Title Name Email Final Report
BRCC Spring 2012 Instructional Technology Summit—Innovations in Teaching and Learning Greg Cook cookg@brcc.edu S2012-76W-FF
CVCC Combining Developmental Reading, Writing, and Orientation: An Integrated Approach to Student Success Lana Velez velezl@cvcc.vccs.edu S2012-73W-FF
GCC Inside Out: Bringing the Lives of Colonial Virginians into the Classroom by Bringing the Classroom Out Richard Gossweiler rgossweiler@germanna.edu S2012-440P-PF
JTCC Sentence Diagramming Makes a Comeback in a New Arena, the Community College Developmental Writing Classroom Mona Marshall mmarshall@reynolds.edu S2012-446P-FF
LFCC

Digital Content Creation for Online Communication Course

Kimmarie Lewis klewis@lfcc.edu S2012-439P-CF
NVCC

Educators’ Realistic and Unrealistic Expectations for a 21st Century Mind

Ramezan Dowlati rdowlati@nvcc.edu S2012-438P-PF
NVCC

Amadou Hampaté Bâ and the French Colonial Regime in West Africa

Charles Evans

cevans@nvcc.edu

S2012-435P-PF
NVCC

The Science, Art, and Music of Water: An Instructional Collaboration

Jonathan Kolm jkolm@nvcc.edu S2012-454P-PF
NVCC

Virtualization and Cloud Computing Workshop

Bernard Schmidt bschmidt@nvcc.edu S2012-78W-PF
NVCC

Advanced Studies Certificate for Physical Therapists Assistants

Paula Smith pasmith1@nvcc.edu S2012-441P-PF
NVCC Exploring Geography in Changing Bolivia Robert Thornett rthornett@nvcc.edu S2012-448P-FF
SSVCC

Using Word Problems to Improve Success Rates in Developmental Reading Classes

Mary Downing-Gardner mary.gardner@southside.edu S2012-437P-FF
VWCC

Teaching the Mobile Generation: Continuing the Conversation

Ramona Coveny rcoveny@virginiawestern.edu S2012-79W-FF
WCC Simulation: Back to the Basics Karla Yates kyates@wcc.vccs.edu S2012-74W-PF.CF


Back to PD Grant Final Reports

Contact Us | Sitemap | Privacy/FOIA | Acceptable Use Agreement | Staff Directory | Tuesday, October 21, 2014
Virginia's Community Colleges  bullet-footer   101 N. 14th Street, 15th Floor  bullet-footer  Richmond, VA 23219