VCCS Colleges
Text Only student_banner_photo
VCCS_Logo colleges_button
Education for a better job, a better life, a better future.
spacing


2011 Professional Development Grants and
Workshop Mini-Grants Final Reports

If any title interests you, click on the link in the final report column to read the final report.
Want to learn more? Email the author by clicking on the email link. Enjoy!
 

Fall 2011

 
College Title Name Email Final Report
BRCC Integrating Active Learning Techniques into the Physics Classroom Kenneth Phillips

phillipsk@brcc.edu

F2011-419P-FF
BRCC Discover and Learn: Incorporating Interactive Lesson Plans through Instruction Using a Digital Film Streaming System Stacey Effrig

effrigs@brcc.edu

F2011-19W-CF
BRCC Lions, and Tigers, and Bears, Oh My! The Road to Oz through Generational and Multicultural Awareness Susan Simmers  simmerss@brcc.edu  F2011-18W-CF
CVCC Teaching the Mobile Generation Juville Dario-Becker dario-beckerj@cvcc.vccs.edu F2011-20W-FF
CVCC OPERATION NATURE TRAIL RESCUE: Engaging Students in the Establishment of an Outdoor Learning Lab Teresa Ranson ransont@cvcc.vccs.edu F2011-421P-FF
GCC Fall 2011 Instructional technology Summit—Innovations in Teaching and Learning Juliette Mersiowsky JMersiowsky@germanna.edu F2011-22W-PF
JSRCC VCCS Oral Communication Competency Assessment: Three College Pilot of Standardized Rubric and Comon Speech Assignment  Cynthia De Riemer cderiemer@reynolds.edu F2011-411P-FF
JTCC  Creating an Interactive, Digital Teaching and Learning Resource Alexandr Tolj atolj@jtcc.edu F2011-417P-FF
NVCC Student Engagement through Team-based Learning: Incorporating Team Assignments into the Curriculum Amy Harding alharding@nvcc.edu F2011-425P-PF
NVCC The Underground Railroad Quilt Codes, Fact or Fiction Elizabeth Tebow/Tindell etebow@nvcc.edu F2011-433P-PF
NVCC Facilitating a Community of Practice for Biology Instructors Lucinda Miller lmiller@nvcc.edu F2011-413P-PF
NVCC Create a Website for Storing Best Practice Teaching and Learning Materials Specifically Geared Towards Gen 1.5 Students. Memuna Sillah msillah@nvcc.edu F2011-431P-PF
NVCC Making the Invisible, Visible: A Visual Dialogue between Art and Science Lecture Tour Rebecca Kamen

rkamen@nvcc.edu

F2011-427P-PF
NVCC Celebration of the 150th Anniversary of the Civil War Through Music Wendy Matthews

wmatthews@nvcc.edu

F2011-415P-PF
 

Summer 2011

 
College Title Name Email Final Report
BRCC Paralegal Exploration Lisa Kara karal@brcc.edu SU2011-395P-FF
BRCC Canine Physical Rehabilitation Janice Larsen

larsenj@brcc.edu

SU2011-384P-PF
BRCC  Expanding Internationalization of the Nursing Curriculum and Cultural Awareness of Community College Nursing Students through an Exploration of Chinese Alternative Medicine Drew Strong

StrongD@brcc.edu

SU2011-400P-PF
DSLCC Multiplying Memories: Using Technology to Research, Organize and Archive Educational Experiences of African Americans in the Allegheny Highlands of Virginia (1930s through 1960s) Cynthia Boteler

cboteler@dslcc.edu

SU2011-410P-FF
NRCC The History of Distance Education at a VCCS college: Innovation through Teamwork Tom Faigle

tfaigle@virginiawestern.edu 

SU2011-401P-CF
NVCC Creating a Super Computer at a Super Price Edward Delean

edelean@nvcc.edu

SU2011-391P-PF
NVCC Pramoedya Ananta Toer: Critic of the Dutch Colonial World and Decolonization in Indonesia Charles Evans

cevans@nvcc.edu

SU2011-387P-CF
NVCC A Multi-media Lecture for an Interdisciplinary Natural Science Course on Water Rebecca Kamen

rkamen@nvcc.edu

SU2011-382P-FF
NVCC Distance Physics Laboratory for Virginia Walerian Majewski

wmajewski@nvcc.edu

SU2011-408P-FF
NVCC Development of a New Geoscience Field Course: "The Geology and Oceanography of Delmarva Barrier Islands" Kenneth Rasmussen

krasmussen@nvcc.edu

SU2011-397P-FF
NVCC Developing a Certificate program for Building Inspection—Local, National and International (Developing countries) Nazanin Saidi

nsaidi@nvcc.edu

SU2011-409P-FF
NVCC DpBestFlow for Photographers Barbara Southworth

msouthworth@reynolds.edu

SU2011-388P-FF
NVCC Physics Laboratory Experiments At Home Tatiana Stantcheva

tstantcheva@nvc.edu

SU2011-385P-FF
SWCC Professional Development Project: Aebersold Summer Jazz Workshop Joseph Trivette

joseph.trivette@sw.edu

SU2011-405P-PF
TCC Social Change and Intersectional Activism Book Completion Sharon Doetsch-Kidder

 

SU2011-407P-FF
VWCC Improving Student Retention through Utilization of Best Practices in Community College Career Centers Ruth Hendrick

HendrickR@CVCC.VCCS.EDU

SU2011-394P-FF
VWCC Meeting Workforce and Student Needs through Improved Services and Opportunities in Community College Career Centers Rhonda Perdue

rperdue@virginiawestern.edu

SU2011-404P-FF
 

Spring 2011

 
College Title Name Email Final Report
GCC Research on Partnerships for India Study Abroad Sunithi Gnanadoss sgnanadoss@germmana.edu SP2011-372P-PF
GCC BYOC: Bring Your Own Course! Cheryl Huff

chuff@germanna.edu

SP2011-3W-PF
LFCC Spring 2011 Instructional Technology Summit—Innovations in Teaching and Learning Joan Osborne josborne@nvcc.edu SP2011-5W-FF
NVCC Making the Invisible, Visible: A Visual Dialogue between Art and Science Rebecca Kamen

rkamen@nvcc.edu

SP2011-374P-FF
NVCC A Comparative Study of Student Learning Outcomes for Research Papers in Dual Enrollment and On-campus Jay Steere jsteere@nvcc.edu SP2011-377P-CF
NVCC Robotics in Engineering Education Monica Mallini   SP2011-379P-CF.PF
NVCC Teaching in Black and White: Using the Newspaper as a Text in the Composition Classroom Meena Nayak mnayak@nvcc.edu SP2011-380P-PF
PVCC A Novel Approach: Feeding a Book Manuscript to Writers' Conference Wolves Andrew Smith

ansmith@pvcc.edu

SP2011-370P-CF
SWCC Music Instruction and Perform Professional Development Project Joseph Trivette

joseph.trivette@sw.edu

SP2011-373P-CF
TNCC Emerging Scholars in Mathematics, Engineering and Computer Science Robert Crumpler

rcrumpler@tcc.edu

SP2011-376P-FF


Back to PD Grant Final Reports

Contact Us | Sitemap | Privacy/FOIA | Acceptable Use Agreement | Staff Directory | Thursday, October 23, 2014
Virginia's Community Colleges  bullet-footer   101 N. 14th Street, 15th Floor  bullet-footer  Richmond, VA 23219