VCCS Colleges
Text Only student_banner_photo
VCCS_Logo colleges_button
Education for a better job, a better life, a better future.
spacing


2009 Professional Development Grants and
Workshop Mini-Grants Final Reports

If any title interests you, click on the link in the final report column to read the final report.
Want to learn more? Email the author by clicking on the email link. Enjoy! 

Fall 2009
 
College Title Name Email Final Report

BRCC

A New You:  Making a Lifestyle Change through Diet, Exercise and Chiropractic Advice

Susan Simmers

simmerss@brcc.edu

F2009-125W-FF

JTCC

Visual Rhetoric: A Research Proposal for Studying Non-linear, Visual Text Composition

Justin Cary

jcary@jtcc.edu

F2009-295P-FF

LFCC

Instructional Technology Summit: Using Web 2.0 Technologies & Looking Ahead to Bb9

Joan Osborne

josborne@lfcc.edu

F2009-123W-FF

LFCC

A Discovery in Best Practices in Community College Enrollment Management

Karen Bucher

kbucher@lfcc.edu

F2009-293-CF/PF

NVCC

Development of iTunes Technology to Create IT Course Material

Afsaneh Chamlou

achamlou@nvcc.edu

F2009-288P-FF

NVCC

Global Connections - Local Impact: Best Practices, Models & Policies for Sustainable Cross-Border Higher Education

Carol Sinwell

csinwell@nvcc.edu

F2009-294P-FF

NVCC

The Constitution:  A Conversation with George Mason and James Madison

Charles Errico

cerrico@nvcc.edu

F2009-283P-FF

NVCC

Supporting Faculty in Integrating Information Literacy into Their Teaching and Learning

Dana Roggenbaum

droggenbaum@nvcc.edu

F2009-286P-PF

NVCC

Developing a Faculty Learning Community for Faculty in the STEM Disciplines

Karen Walters

kwalters@nvcc.edu

F2009-289P-PF

NVCC

Contributing to Academic Journals: Understanding the Publication Process

Michele Woodford

mwoodford@nvcc.edu

F2009-124W-FF

NVCC

New Course Development for Non-Western Literature in Global Context

Rima Gulshan

rgulshan@nvcc.edu

F2009-290P-FF

PVCC

“See You at Office Hours”: Skyping with Online Students in English Composition

Andrew Simth

ansmith@pvcc.edu

F2009-298P-PF

TCC

Teaching Critical Thinking to First-Year Students Workshop

David Loope

dloope@tcc.edu

F2009-126W-PF

VWCC

Keeping Current with Biotechnology

Jeffrey Gillette

jgillette@virginiawestern.edu

F2009-127W-PF

VWCC

Introducing Informatics in the Clinical Setting: Meeting the New Standards

Teresa Fox

tfox@virginiawestern.edu

F2009-287P-PF

 

Summer 2009

 
College Title Name Email Final Report

BRCC

Speaking, Observing, and Investigating: Making Communication Meaningful for Administration of
Justice Students

Stacey Effrig

effrigs@brcc.edu

S2009-244P-FF

BRCC

Accounting through Technology: Using Video, Audio, and Software

Rebecca Evans

evansr@brcc.edu

S2009-249P-FF

BRCC

Exploring Strategies for Using Distance Education in Veterinary

Joseph Malcolm

malcolmj@brcc.edu

S2009-256P-PF

BRCC

The National Park and Mountaineer Heritage Website Project

Margaret Marangione

marangionem@brcc.edu

S2009-268P-FF

BRCC

Teaching Diverse Learners: Principles of Universal Design for Instruction

Laura Franklin

lfranklin@nvcc.edu

S2009-99W-FF

JTCC

Integrating Authors’ Voices into the Student’s Writing Process

Victoria Brame

vbrame@jtcc.edu

S2009-230P-FF

JTCC

Researching a 16th Century English Duke Through Primary Sources

David Head

dhead@jtcc.edu

S2009-234P-FF

JTCC

Development of Improvisation Course

Kerrigan Sullivan

ksullivan@jtcc.edu

S2009-245P-FF

JTCC

Using Simulation to Address Clinical Gaps in Nursing Education

Nancy Leahy

nleahy@jtcc.edu

S2009-265P-PF

NVCC

Using On-line Simulations for the Physics Laboratory

Tatiana Stancheva

tstantcheva@nvcc.edu

S2009-229P-FF

NVCC

The Kellogg Institute for the Training and Certification of Developmental Educators

Raymond Orkwis

rorkwis@nvcc.edu

S2009-236P-FF

NVCC

Three part project to enhance diagnostic testing, classroom assessment, and advancement of developmental English students

Karen Taylor
Will Schutz

ktaylor@nvcc.edu
wschutz@nvcc.edu

S2009-241P-CF

NVCC

Developing a College-Wide Faculty Mentoring Program

Lisa Smith

lsmith@nvcc.edu

S2009-242P-FF

NVCC

Family and Human Services Certificate Development

Christine Schull

cschull@nvcc.edu

S2009-251P-FF

PDCCC

Cluster Computing Curriculum Revision Project

Robert Tureman

rtureman@pc.vccs.edu

S2009-252P-FF

PVCC

Version 2.0: en-VISION-ing Online English 112

Andrew Smith

ansmith@pvcc.edu

S2009-235P-FF

PVCC

Virtual Slide Scanning project to improve microscopy education in Anatomy & Physiology and Biology courses in the VCCS

David Moyer

dmoyer@pvcc.edu

S2009-262P-PF

SCC

Aspects of the Stigmatized Francis in Paintings of the Umbrian Mannerist Dono Doni

C. Michael Stinson

mike.stinson@southside.edu

S2009-253P-FF

TNCC

Developing Application Projects for ‘MTH 292 Topics in Differential Equations’ Using Maple Software

Tatiana Golub

golubt@tncc.edu

S2009-258P-FF

VWCC

New Features and Functions in Windows Server 2008

Calvin Scott

ccassell@virginiawestern.edu

S2009-248P-PF

 

Spring 2009

 
College Title Name Email Final Report

BRCC

Getting All Your Houses in Order: Business, Home & Financial

Angie Glenn

glenna@brcc.edu

SP2009-104W-FF

BRCC

Rotax Aircraft Engine Training and Course Development

Aaron Taylor

taylora@brcc.edu

SP2009-210P-PF

BRCC

The Effect of Dynamic Visualization on Student Understanding of Function Composition

Kevin Ratliff

atliffk@brcc.edu

SP2009-211P-PF

BRCC

Resources for Using Film in Writing Assignments for English Courses

Steven Fletcher

brflets@brcc.edu

SP2009-216P-PF

JSRCC

Blood, Sweat, Tears: The Rise of Crime Literature in Antebellum Culture

Ashley Bourne

abourne@reynolds.edu

SP2009-215P-FF

JTCC

Development of Acting for the Camera Course

Kerrigan Sullivan

ksullivan@jtcc.edu

SP2009-217P-PF

JTCC

Use of Clickers to Enhance Student Engagement in the Nursing Classroom

Barbara Deets

bdeets@jtcc.edu

SP2009-219P-PF

LFCC

Instructional Technology Summit-Using Web 2.0 Technologies and Course Management Tools…

Joan Osborne

josborne@lfcc.edu

SP2009-100W-FF

LFCC

American Dental Education Association Attendance

Claudia Mazurkiewicz

cmazurkiewicz@lfcc.edu

SP2009-209P-PF

MECC

Recruitment, Transition, and Retention of Adjunct Clinical Faculty

Brigitte Casteel

bcasteel@me.vccs.edu

SP2009-103W-FF

NVCC

A Manual for Success Strategies in Developmental Mathematics

Susan Sherry

ssherry@nvcc.edu

SP2009-221P-CF

NVCC

What effect does student learning style and demographics have on student receptivity to climate change being taught as a human driven phenomenon?

Milton Muldrow

mmuldrow@nvcc.edu

SP2009-222P-PF

NVCC

Teaching Diverse Learners: Principles of Universal Design for Instruction

Laura Franklin

lfranklin@nvcc.edu

SP2009-99W-FF

PHCC

An International Student Program for a Rural Community College

Natalie Harder

nharder@ph.vccs.edu

SP2009-207P-FF

TNCC

STAMINA: Statics, STrength of MateriAls, and DynaMIcs ONline TutoriAL

Michael Uenking

uenkingm@tncc.edu

SP2009-213P-FF

TNCC

Using Art and Technology to Publish Student Writing

Cece Wheeler

wheelerc@tncc.edu

SP2009-214P-FF

TNCC

Emerging Scholars in Mathematics, Engineering and Computer Science

Robert Crumpler

crumplerr@tncc.edu

SP2009-218P-FF

VWCC

Tropical Forest Ecology: a workshop with a Costa Rican Expert

Ellen Holtman

eholtman@virginiawestern.edu

SP2009-105W-FF

VWCC

Attend American Dental Educators Association annual meeting

Martha Roberson

mroberson@virginiawestern.edu

SP2009-220P-PF


Back to PD Grant Final Reports

Contact Us | Sitemap | Privacy/FOIA | Acceptable Use Agreement | Staff Directory | Thursday, August 21, 2014
Virginia's Community Colleges  bullet-footer   101 N. 14th Street, 15th Floor  bullet-footer  Richmond, VA 23219