VCCS Colleges
Text Only student_banner_photo
VCCS_Logo colleges_button
Education for a better job, a better life, a better future.
spacing


2008 Professional Development Grants and
Workshop Mini-Grants Final Reports

If any title interests you, click on the link in the final report column to read the final report.
Want to learn more? Email the author by clicking on the email link. Enjoy!  

Fall 2008

 
College Title Name Email Final Report

BRCC

Designated Mechanic Examiner Training and Test Development

Fred Dyen

dyenf@brcc.edu

F2008-194P-PF

JSRCC

Social Networking: the Application of Interconnected Internet Communities as a Way to Enhance Curriculum

Angela Mattia

amattia@reynolds.edu

F2008-201P-CF

PVCC

A gross anatomy collaboration to establish clinically relevant content and prepare to pioneer a cadaver-based lab in Anatomy and Physiology

David Moyer

dmoyer@pvcc.edu

F2008-200P-FF

PVCC

Student Newspaper Mentoring Project

Andrew Smith

ansmith@pvcc.edu

F2008-195P-FF

 

Summer 2008

 
College Title Name Email Final Report

BRCC

Career Studies Certificate Development for LSA Pilot/Mechanic and Flight Instructor

Fred Dyen

dyenf@brcc.edu

S2008-172P-PF

BRCC

National Park Research and Writing Project for Composition 112

Margaret Buse

busem@brcc.edu

S2008-188P-PF

BRCC

Standards for Higher Learning: Supporting Students’ Transition from SOLs to College Level Critical Thinking

Abigail Montgomery

montgomerya@brcc.edu

S2008-95W-FF

BRCC

Standards for Higher Learning: Supporting Students’ Transition from SOLs to College Level Critical Thinking

Jane Rosecrans

jrosecrans@reynolds.edu

S2008-153P-PF

JSRCC

Contract Grading: A Study of the Accuracy and Acceptance of an Alternative System for Writing Evaluation

Glenda Potts

gpotts@reynolds.edu

S2008-163P-FF

JTCC

Research into the effects and application of the SCHEV funding ratio for SPD in the VCCS system

Kerrigan Sullivan

ksullivan@jtcc.edu

S2008-173P-FF

JTCC

Creating Support for Teaching World History

Sharon Burnham

sburnham@jtcc.edu

S2008-179P-FF

NVCC

Building Blocks for a Common Degree

Christine Schull

cschull@nvcc.edu

S2008-157P-FF

NVCC

Improving Math 004 (Algebra II):  A Learner-Centered Environment

Alison Bisson

abisson@nvcc.edu

S2008-161P-FF

NVCC

Global Climate Change and Effect on Waterways International Faculty Seminar

Reva Savkar

rsavkar@nvcc.edu

S2008-190P-CF

NVCC

First Aid for Field Faculty

Callan Bentley

cbentley@nvcc.edu

S2008-94W-CF

NVCC

Introduction to African Literature Course Development

Memuna Sillah

msillah@nvcc.edu

S2008-175P-FF

PVCC

Expanding Dance Opportunities with Liz Lerman Dance Exchange

Anne Megibow

amegibow@pvcc.edu

S2008-169P-PF

PVCC

Creating a Comprehensive Information Guide for New, Dual Enrollment/Credit, and Adjunct English Department Faculty

Benjamin Sloan

bsloan@pvcc.edu

S2008-178P-FF

PVCC

Using Macros in MS Word to Accelerate Instructor Feedback on Student Essays

Andrew Smith

ansmith@pvcc.edu

2008-184P-FF

RCC

Technology for Nursing Education Workshop

Elsie Mangano

Not Available

S2008-91W-CF

SVCC

Avian images in the early Franciscan art of Orte (Lazio) and Assisi (Umbrai) Italy

Charles Stinson

Mike.Stinson@southside.edu

S2008-162P-CF

SVCC

Intercultural Coaching and Research Project

Roger John Brenner

john.brenner@sw.edu

S2008-174P-PF

TNCC

Advertisements for Themselves: Authorship in Postwar America

Matthew Bumb

bumbm@tncc.edu

S2008-185P-PF

TNCC

MAXimizing Your Potential as a Recruiter

Crystal Taylor

taylorcb@tncc.edu

S2008-93W-FF

VWCC

Curriculum Development of User Support/Help Desk Program

Jeffery Scott

jscott@virginiawestern.edu

S2008-186P-PF

 

Spring 2008

 
College Title Name Email Final Report

BRCC

Students in Free Enterprise Teams (SIFE): Offering VCCS Students Excellence in the Classroom and Beyond through Service Learning and Global Engagement

Rebecca M. Evans

Evansr@brcc.edu

SP2008-79W-FF

BRCC

Creativity, Leadership and Inspiration

Kelly Snell

snellk@brcc.edu

SP2008-85W-FF

BRCC

Blended Distance Education/On Site Course Development for Light Sport Aircraft Repairman with a Maintenance Rating

Fred Dyen

dyenf@brcc.edu

SP2008-140P-FF

JSRCC

Best Practices in Student Development Courses

Sarah Shutt

sshutt@reynolds.edu

SP2008-87W-FF

JTCC

Development of a new Humanities course, Introduction to Latin American Civilization and Culture.

Celia Fryer

cfryer@jtcc.edu

SP2008-144P-FF

LFCC

Art Appreciation: Emphasizing Authentic Writing and Collaboration in an Online Art History Course

Kate Simpson

ksimpson@lfcc.edu

SP2008-135P-PF

NRCC

Understanding Dementia: What Every Caregiver Should Know

Mia Copeland

mcopeland@nr.edu

SP2008-81W-FF

PVCC

"We Teach Who We Are": A VCCS Faculty Colloquy on Who We Are as Professionals

Dick Harrington

dharrington@pvcc.edu

SP2008-83W-FF

PVCC

Holding the Center: A Workshop for Learning Assistance Administrators

Jennifer Koster

jkoster@pvcc.edu

SP2008-86W-FF

RCC

Alternative Assessment in Developmental Mathematics

Patricia Parker

pparker@rappahannock.edu

SP2008-129P-FF

RCC Technology Summit Leslie Norris

lnorris@rappahannock.edu

SP2008-78W-CF

SVCC

Rural, Suburban and Urban Community College Perspectives

Chad Patton

chad.patton@southside.edu

SP2008-142P-CF

TNCC

Successful Teaching Strategies for Developmental Math

Cynthia French

frenchc@tncc.edu

SP2008-82W-FF

TNCC

Selecting and Creating iPods Lessons and Integrating iPod Technology into the Blackboard Environment for Reading, Spanish, and Information Technology classes

Maureen Cahill
Deborah Edson
Sadie Hastings

mcahill@tcc.edu
dedson@tcc.edu
sadie.hastings@us.army.mil

P2008-138P-PF


Back to PD Grant Final Reports

Contact Us | Sitemap | Privacy/FOIA | Acceptable Use Agreement | Staff Directory | Tuesday, August 19, 2014
Virginia's Community Colleges  bullet-footer   101 N. 14th Street, 15th Floor  bullet-footer  Richmond, VA 23219